my first leave away from the plantation… Day 2

I was awoken by a cock’s crow on the second day, which was rather strange  since I was coming from Lagos where sleep is often abruptly cut short by the power generating sets or car horns or alarms and lastly your aunt (banging on your door and asking why you still in bed at 5:30 am). I am so grateful I left all those behind for a cock’s alarm. My new friends were Youth Corps Members ( There is a scheme in Nigeria called National Youth Service Corps initiated  in a bid to reconstruct, reconcile and rebuild the country after the Nigerian Civil war. It was established “with a view to the proper encouragement and development of common ties among the youths of Nigeria and the promotion of national unity”. Therefore every Nigerian graduate must undergo a mandatory one year service and the “fun” part is you get to be posted far away from your locale to new and uncharted territories) hence they had to leave for work early in the morning. Not the Lagos kind of early though, that one is just madness. You wake as early as 5:00 am just to get to work 8:00 am. They actually left for work at 8:00am but before they did, I demanded a trip round the little village I was in. Most especially I wanted to see the MAssive Church that demanded to be seen at night. It turned out to be an awesome outing albeit short…

 

The trip to the Erin-Ijesha Waterfall was a long one, I got bored  and unbored cos I had to be still for so long. In the end, I had to take pictures… most of which came out blurred but I got some good shots.

 

 

Erin-Ijesha Waterfall is in Erin-Oke Village in Ilesha. The Government needs to do more for the Villages there and also realise that they can make a lot of revenue from managing this tourist attraction. I hope someone is advising them.  We finally got to Erin-Oke and had to take a bike to Waterfall, a chance for me to get a view of the town that harbored the beauty hidden behind glorious scapes.

I was awestruck when we finally got to Erin-Ijesha Waterfall. The Landscape there is beyond description, to be frank I forgot I was there for the waterfall and just kept shooting at the mountains and hills and grasses and hills and rays of light and birds.

It is said that the waterfall has got 7 steps or floors, well I can neither confirm nor deny that I got to the seventh floor but i got really high and scared because my tour guides refused to go further at some point. I had to wager around myself but I got back alive.

Day 2 was really memorable and beautiful, better than Day 1 if I do say so my self. Precious landscapes, mild weather, waterfall and people; there was just so much to snap that day.

 

Day 2 ended gracefully, I went back to my little village with the massive elephant imposing  itself on all other structures( not like they cared any ways). The next day will be my final trip around the south west, I’d plan to go to Lokoja, Kogi state and get pictures of the River Niger and Benue confluence but that never happened. I will do that this year though.

 

 

 

Gracias to everyone that viewed the blog, please download the pictures if you want to and if you want a clearer and high-def format, kindly drop a comment and I will get back to you.

 

5 thoughts on “my first leave away from the plantation… Day 2

Leave a Reply

