my first leave away from the plantation… Day 1

Its been 17 months since I signed up (got drafted) as a plantation worker. Yes some people believe I and my fellow cotton pickers have got it good, “una no dey collect the armed robber salary”, they ask… “Na only oil worker dey collect armed robber salary for this country ohhhh”, I respond.

So back to the topic, I took my first leave away from the plantation on Dec 2, 2013. I was really excited, I did not have to lie about being sick or my aunt being sick to avoid the plantation. I basically had the right to be away from the cotton farm. I already had my mind made up, I was going to tour some south western states in search of good landscapes to take shots of. I had Osun, Ondo, Ekiti and Kwara planned for my trip.

Took off on December 4 and I decided to make Osogbo a base. The whole idea was to sleep in osogbo and move around the other states from there. Plus, an “ex-friend” made me believe i could get free accommodation in her dad’s hotel… well she changed it for me when I got there. I learnt never to expect too much from people after what happened with her.

The following are pictures from the first day…
osogbo

osogbo, bikes, lines
my tour guides through out my trip, Nini and Funmi
IMG_9009
They had wires all wriggly, everywhere and nowhere
IMG_9016
Women everywhere, time was between 4 – 5pm… wonder what they were discussing
IMG_9037
tour guides, more bikes,more wriggly wires, clouds
IMG_9038
same shot with the one above i think
IMG_9043
busy road, central mosque ( I think)

 

So first day had me on a trip around osogbo on a bike to Osun Osogbo. The truants at the groove wanted me to pay N2,000 to take my camera in, I kindly rejected and took the following shots with the iphone…

                                                       osun Osogbo Groove

IMG_2504 IMG_2506 IMG_2509 IMG_2516 IMG_2518 IMG_2522 IMG_2524 IMG_2527 IMG_2528 IMG_2532 IMG_2536 IMG_2565 IMG_2582 IMG_2596 IMG_2600 IMG_2605 IMG_2618 IMG_2621

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’d think the day ended after all these shots, well no. Funmi the ex-friend finally broke the sadistic news. I had to call my brother to help, he gave me a friend’s number who was serving in some village in Sooko. Sooko is a bike away from Moro, Moro is on osogbo-ife road.

The first night was spent in a bar, funny watching how the village folks unwined. One of the corpers even got up to dance with one of the “bargirls”. It was fun, I promptly forgot someone just invited me to a city I’d never been before and felt like i was born in Sooko.

Find below shots from the bar…

IMG_9082 IMG_9102 IMG_9106 IMG_9117 IMG_9124 IMG_9155

Bar’s name is Sogo, named after the owner…Sogo.

IMG_9186

Night did not end yet, yes the first day was the longest. Truly, the best things in life happen to those who wait ( dont wait forever ).

Nothing does justice to a landscape like the night, it hides light and reveals light in ways the day can not. Truly darkness is the canvass on which light is framed…

The following shots were taken around 12am in Sooko Village, Ife, Osun state…


IMG_9189
IMG_9194 IMG_9197 IMG_9210 IMG_9214 IMG_9220 IMG_9221 IMG_9228 IMG_9233 IMG_9242

Day 1 ended in a strangeland but God kept us alive…

Day 2… trip to the waterfall

11 thoughts on “my first leave away from the plantation… Day 1

  1. Beautiful Format… next post should please be from some exotic European, South American or probably Asian destination.

    That Osun osogbo groove has a very eerie feel … spooky.

Leave a Reply

